Nominations for the 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards were announced today, with a surprisingly diverse roster of nominees, including a breakthrough moment for Marvel with WandaVision, HBO’s Lovecraft Country, and HBO’s I May Destroy You.

WandaVision scored 23 nominations, including Limited Series and Lead Actor/Actress in a Limited Series or Movie nods for Elizabeth Olson and Paul Bettany. Kathryn Hahn received a Supporting Actress in a Limited Series or Movie nomination for her portrayal of the show’s antagonist, Agatha Harkness. Hahn’s performance of “Agatha All Along” also helped the show pick up a nod for Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics.

In more ironic news, the now-cancelled Lovecraft Country received 18 Emmy nominations, the highest number of nominations for any HBO/HBO Max series. The show is nominated for Drama Series, with both leads Jurnee Smollett and Jonathan Majors earning Best Actor/Actress in a Drama Series nods.

Michaela Coel’s I May Destroy You, which was unceremoniously snubbed by The Golden Globes, received 9 nominations, including Limited Series, Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie for Coel, and Outstanding Writing for a Limited or Anthology Series or Movie for Coel as well.

Also of note, MJ Rodriguez made Emmy history by becoming the first trans actress to be nominated for a Lead Actress in a Drama Series for her work on the FX series, Pose.

Additional acting nominees include:

Drama Series

“The Boys” (Amazon Prime Video) 

“Bridgerton” (Netflix) 

“The Crown” (Netflix) 

“The Handmaid’s Tale” (Hulu) 

“Lovecraft Country” (HBO) 

“The Mandalorian” (Disney Plus) 

“Pose” (FX) 

“This Is Us” (NBC) 

Comedy Series

“Black-ish” (ABC) 

“Cobra Kai” (Netflix) 

“Emily in Paris” (Netflix)

“Hacks” (HBO Max) 

“The Flight Attendant” (HBO Max) 

“The Kominsky Method” (Netflix) 

“Pen15” (Hulu) 

“Ted Lasso” (Apple TV Plus) 

Limited Series

“I May Destroy You” (HBO) 

“Mare of Easttown” (HBO) 

“The Queen’s Gambit” (Netflix) 

“The Underground Railroad” (Amazon Prime Video) 

“WandaVision” (Disney Plus) 

Lead Actor in a Drama Series

Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”) 

Jonathan Majors (“Lovecraft Country”) 

Josh O’Connor (“The Crown”) 

Regé-Jean Page (“Bridgerton”) 

Billy Porter (“Pose”) 

Matthew Rhys (“Perry Mason”) 

Lead Actress in a Drama Series

Uzo Aduba (“In Treatment”) 

Olivia Colman (“The Crown”) 

Emma Corrin (“The Crown”) 

Elisabeth Moss (“The Handmaid’s Tale”) 

Mj Rodriguez (“Pose”) 

Jurnee Smollett (“Lovecraft Country”) 

Lead Actor in a Comedy Series

Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”)  

Michael Douglas (“The Kominsky Method”)  

William H. Macy (“Shameless”)  

Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”)  

Kenan Thompson (“Kenan”) 

Lead Actress in a Comedy Series

Aidy Bryant (“Shrill”) 

Kaley Cuoco (“The Flight Attendant”) 

Allison Janney (“Mom”) 

Tracee Ellis Ross (“Black-ish”) 

Jean Smart (“Hacks”) 

Lead Actor in a Limited Series or Movie

Paul Bettany (“WandaVision”)

Hugh Grant (“The Undoing”)

Ewan McGregor (“Halston”)

Lin-Manuel Miranda (“Hamilton”)

Leslie Odom Jr. (“Hamilton”)

Lead Actress in a Limited Series or Movie

Michaela Coel (“I May Destroy You”) 

Cynthia Erivo (“Genius: Aretha”) 

Elizabeth Olsen (“WandaVision”) 

Anya Taylor-Joy (“The Queen’s Gambit”) 

Kate Winslet (“Mare of Easttown”)

A complete list of nominations is available via Variety’s website.  


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s